Over sharing….all the time

CrossFit, Pregnancy, and some other random thoughts

A Heavenly Experience April 14, 2013

Filed under: Pregnancy — Jennie Yundt @ 1:59 pm

SURPRISE. Have you ever had an experience that was so magical and amazing that it took you completely by surprise? I have only had 2 or 3 experiences like that in my life and one of them was at my 16 week ultrasound appointment. I found a place in Milwaukee called My First Peekaboo. They’re a small boutique type ultrasound company that specializes in gender determination and getting some of the most amazing pictures of your unborn baby you’ll ever seen. The technician, Anna, even published a book full of cool ultrasound pictures!

 

BIG DAY. Not only was the gentlemen who answered the phone over the top nice and professional, he was actually delightful to talk to. He wasn’t pushy or sales-y. I could hear over the phone how much he loved his job, and that doesn’t happen very often. I was in phone sales for 5 years and in my opinion, he was like the Bruce Lee of phone sales. Show me your ways Sensei! So when the big day came around, I was excited, but had no expectations of what it would be like. It was like a magical spa ultrasound movie… it was like Mario Tricocci but with a tour of my uterus. The ultrasound room was dimly lit with symphony versions of lullabies playing overhead. The bed for me to lay on was one notch higher in comfort than my bed at home. At the foot of the bed there is a huge projection screen and the whole ultrasound was projected onto the wall. To top if all off, there was a live web feed of the whole ultrasound so friends and family could all watch it live! Get out the popcorn! Time to see Jennie’s placenta!

 

DRUM ROLL. After checking and rechecking, Anna shared with us that we are having a baby girl. A GIRL. We like the name Avery, so that’s what I’ll call her for now. Avery looked so….real. At one point we even saw her yawn. Sometimes you forget that under all this maternal storage tissue, hormones, naps and horse pills, there’s an actual living being INSIDE ME. A tiny human. My ity bity avocado sized daughter. She’s not a teenager yet, thank God. But I swear at one point she might have given me an eye roll. Then again I could just be paranoid.

16 week gender determination ultrasound from Jennie Yundt on Vimeo.

 

Leave a Reply

