Over sharing….all the time

CrossFit, Pregnancy, and some other random thoughts

Being a Mom is Lonely March 29, 2013

Filed under: Pregnancy — Jennie Yundt @ 1:32 pm

Super Mom RobotLONELY. Sometimes when Bill is coaching at the gym and I’m sitting home with the kids I feel….lonely. Not in a “my soul is empty” kind of way. More of in a “let’s go to Meijer one more time so Mommy can talk to the cashiers” kind of way.

 

PROUD. I mean, is there anything we do at home that really fills you with pride and fulfillment? “Gee, I’m so proud! I just folded 9 loads of laundry! I can’t wait to update my facebook status!” I guess I just feel like I need to be an unstoppable robot that blasts through laundry, cleaning, yard work and Mom duties. I love my kids, and I’d do anything for them…but could at least ONE of the things be cool?

 

EXAMPLE. You  might be asking yourself, “like what???”. Well gosh, I dunno. Maybe getting your kids ready for school should be one of the workouts in the CrossFit Open. The teenager/toddler combination is RX. Or perhaps there could be a record board that hangs in my house for the highest number of consecutive days of having a toddler sneeze on me with yogurt in his mouth. How about if all my grocery shopping trips had to be done in roller skates?

 

EXCITING. Life should be cool. Challenging. Sexy. Instead it becomes this monotonous, lonely grind that leaves me wishing life at home was a little more like life at the gym. Don’t get me wrong…having a sign language conversation with Brady, or watching the side of Katelyn’s face while she’s texting is SUPER great. I just sometimes need someone to get excited to see me and ask, “OMG, how did your meatloaf turn out last night!? Did you get your dishwasher unloaded? AWESOME!!” Yep. I just need my life to have a little more 3, 2, 1 GO….and an little less “DON’T MAKE ME COUNT TO 3!”

 

Leave a Reply

