Over sharing….all the time

CrossFit, Pregnancy, and some other random thoughts

The inevitable backache August 30, 2011

Filed under: Nonsense — Jennie Yundt @ 7:11 am

How is it that I went my entire pregnancy without the nagging back pain that had plagued me for 8 months, and now that Brady’s 3 months old the pain comes back? That goes against everything I know about pregnant ladies. Every representation of a woman with child has some lady with her hand on her back. Know why? PREGNANT LADIES GET BACK ACHES. But not me. Pregnancy cured my back ache. WTF.

The skinny hippo experiment has been going pretty well. We are working on reintroducing solid foods, and my weight has been staying pretty consistent. On day 12 of the experiment we had a dinner party, so I broke down and ate the delicious beef tenderloin, spaghetti squash, a few potatoes and even the world’s smallest slice of birthday cake. Much to my dismay, about 4 minutes later I started feeling sick. Not just a little sick either….MEGA sick. I had to excuse myself, because I basically un-ate everything I had put down. Whoops! It wasn’t that I ate too much, I think I just ate too fast. What can I say, I was HUNGRY!

Brady is such a smiley, happy baby. He sleeps and sleeps and sleeps, and wakes up just full of giggles. My OTHER baby turned 13 years old today. It’s really amazing how quickly time has gone by. Sigh. Every time I hold Brady I whisper quietly to him “don’t grow up too fast, buddy.”

 

2 Responses to “The inevitable backache”

  1. Mandie Says:

    I have the same problem! Never had backaches before or during pregnancy- but now all the time!!! I blame it on positioning to hold the kiddo, the carrier and/ or the luggage but it amazes me!!!

    ( and I also tell Jackson he is never allowed to grow up:)

  2. While you’re pregnant your body releases a hormone called Relaxin which allows your body to expand to accommodate the growing baby. At about the three month postpartum mark, you start feeling the “wearing off” of this hormone which explains why your back pain is back. I went through the same thing… I’ve always been plagued with neck pain and while I was pregnant I had NO neck pain AT ALL! When I was about 3-4 months postpartum it all came back! Weekly trips to the chiro helped and finally I’m feeling better again. It’s not as awesome as when I was pregnant but it’s definitely manageable. So what I’m trying to say is that it will get better. Your postpartum body is still making adjustments from being pregnant. On a side note, I didn’t realize this was a postpartum thing, but at about the 6-7 pp mark my joints started hurting me. It was really weird. After talking to other moms I learned that it was pretty common. My friend Jes said she had joint pain for 1.5 yrs after her first kid. Fish oil or krill oil helps a lot. And staying hydrated seems to be key. Just thought I’d share in case you encounter any of that! šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

