Over sharing….all the time

CrossFit, Pregnancy, and some other random thoughts

Skinny Hippo Days 7-11 August 19, 2011

Filed under: Nonsense — Jennie Yundt @ 10:57 am

Day 7: 140.2
I’m pretty sure the extra calories Bill threw into my shakes are making me a little nauseous. I finished my breakfast shake, and it hit me like a ton of bricks. Ugh. The good news is that I feel extra full….but the bad news is that I feel a little yucky. My milk production seems to be back to normal. Pumped 5oz this morning.

My metcon ability is still in the shit-er, and so is my strength. We did 3 sets of 5 on deadlifts today, and I had to tap out on my 2nd set. The weight just felt impossibly heavy. Then again, my lower back is acting up again. The workout was 5 rounds of sprint 100meters, and then max pull-ups. My back locked up on the first sprint and I had to switch to rowing. My pull-ups feel cool though. Got 10-8-8-8-8, which is the most consecutive pull-ups I’ve done in a while. Yay!

Day 8: 140.4
I’m pretty sure a 7:00 AMRAP workout almost killed me. 7 box jumps, 7 burpees, 7 balls slams. I felt very winded, but was able to keep moving. The dizziness seems to be completely gone as well, and I’m thankful for that. My energy level is still very low, and I am exhausted. Bill says this should pass soon. I guess it’s my body protesting this new source of fuel? Sigh. Hopefully I get my energy back soon! Β I also feel VERY thirsty. My mouth is perpetually dry, so I carry around a water bottle with me. Maybe some gum would help?

Day 9: 140.8
Ok Bill….you can have your stupid extra calories back. Apparently it is maxing out my fat tolerance. It’s discouraging to have been consuming nothing but shakes for 9 days, and to see weight creeping back on. NOT what we were looking for! Plus, I had to lay on the couch because I felt so nauseous. Today is my rest day, and I definitely need it. I have a weird feeling all day like I have to poop, but then….NOTHING. It’s not very comfortable. Maybe a little jog could help move things along? πŸ™‚

Day 10: 140.6
THAT’S RIGHT SCALE! TAKE THAT! We removed the extra calories, and now the nausea is gone. Thank sweet baby Jesus for that. In hindsight, I don’t think that the dip in my pumping was an actual dip in milk production. Brady usually eats 15-20 minutes while I pump, and that low day he only ate for 10 minutes.

The bad news is that Bill switched to a different powder, and it’s DISGUSTING! Seriously. It is so sickly sweet that I almost couldn’t get my breakfast shake down. I added a bunch of coffee and ice and re-blended it hoping it would cut the sweetness….no help. Instead it was a watery, sickly sweet shake. Blech! I want my old powder back! Bill wanted me to drink the other two shakes (I make the whole day at once), but when he wasn’t looking I poured them down the drain. Shhh! Don’t tell! The way I see it, I’m his guinea pig, and this is the only shit I get to eat for 2 weeks….it HAS to taste good!

Day 11: 139.8
Bring out the boom sauce, because THIS GIRL is back in the 130’s! I tried standing on the scale and taking a picture with my phone, but that doesn’t work because my PHONE adds to the weight, putting me back into the 140’s. πŸ™‚ So, alas we have a picture of an empty scale, but I promise that’s my weight. I told Bill he either needs to get me different powder on his way home, or I’m making bacon and eggs! Oh, and as a side note, I burned myself tanning yesterday. Apparently the lay down bed is WAY stronger than the standup.

I’m tired. I just want to nap all the time, and my stupid back hurts. I’m also kind of sick of drinking shakes. Sam and Kinsy want to have us over for dinner on Saturday night, and I think I might actually eat real food. I’ll skip the booze, just give me copious amounts of ribeye. I’ll probably eat beef until I pass out. Is there such a thing as “meat drunk”? We might be about to find out.

I couldn’t workout this morning because of my back. Sigh. I battled this last year for about 6 months, and I’m hoping to catch it early this time around. Boo.

 

One Response to “Skinny Hippo Days 7-11”

  1. What’s wrong with your back? Does going to the Chiro help? Dr P from Lindsey Chiro just opened her new office by the nail place in Island Lake. I love her. πŸ™‚ Being meat drunk sounds amazing, actually! Not that you asked for my opinion (as if that’ll stop me! lol), but I’m thinking that with any shake diet the potential for failure is higher based on being able to only consume shakes. Perhaps it would be easier for most people to stick to if there was a morning shake, an afternoon shake, and a then a dinner plan that included real food. Also, don’t get discouraged if you gain a little weight back when you start eating again… it will most likely just be your body readjusting. πŸ˜‰ You’re a super hero. I don’t think I could do this for two weeks without throwing the shakes at Bill! You’ve got some serious amaze-balls determination, Jennifer Yundt.


Leave a Reply

