Over sharing….all the time

CrossFit, Pregnancy, and some other random thoughts

Three weeks Postpartum June 13, 2011

Filed under: Pregnancy — Jennie Yundt @ 4:06 pm

My Kids. Ah, here they are. My kids. My KIDS. It sounds weird to say that, but it’s true. I love Katelyn and Brady so fiercely that it almost hurts. Kate is growing up SO FAST, and Brady…well,  he’s still a smooshy, lovey newborn. Brady’s doing amazing, and his big sister is 100% completely in love with him. What’s not to love?

WODs. I have managed to workout 3 times since giving birth. My legs aren’t quite back under me yet. Squatting feels heavy in my legs. My arms feel strong enough to support the weight, but I just can’t drive up out of the hole. FEAR NOT. Just because I gave birth doesn’t mean that I lost all of “Bill’s Baby Power”. I set a new jerk PR the other day – 71kg’s! Woo Hoo! Now I just have to get my legs back under me so I can CLEAN that weight too.

Pressure. There is an unexpected amount of pressure that I feel in my girl parts. I can be squatting down to put Brady in his Mama Roo, or even unloading the dishwasher, and there’s all this uncomfortable pressure. It’s not enough that I’d say it’s painful…it just feels weird.

Adjusting. I’m trying my best to adjust to life with a newborn. The hardest problem is just getting organized enough to leave the house. I pumped for 25 minutes the other day and only got ONE OUNCE. Can you believe that bullshit? I wanted to cry. At least now I know why those crazy boob-for-hire websites charge $3/ounce for breast milk – apparently the extraction process is difficult!!

Fussy Butt. Brady’s a GREAT baby, and a great sleeper. He sleeps for about 5 hours at a stretch at night. He goes through a crabby period from about 8-10PM, but then he’s out cold. Man are we lucky!

MORE MORE MORE. Next week I start coaching again, and with that hopefully comes the ability to work out more frequently. I’m crossing my fingers that I can resume full activity next week. I’m still going to do the “B” scaling options until I feel confident in my recovery, but at least I get to touch barbells again. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

