Over sharing….all the time

CrossFit, Pregnancy, and some other random thoughts

1 week postpartum May 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jennie Yundt @ 6:57 pm

JEANS. I never thought I’d be so happy to be wearing jeans in my whole life. I’m wearing jeans!!!! And they don’t have some shitty, huge stretchy panel just to make them fit my hideously disfigured body! Hooray! Woke up this morning and weighed myself. We’re down to 152.8! I’m feeling good about losing the rest of my baby weight, especially if it keeps magically melting off. I’m still a little jiggly around the belly button, but overall I feel like I’ve regained most of my previous shape.

Mood. I hate to say it, but yesterday I had a 100% hormone melt down. I was overwhelmed, sad, and lonely. My husband was down at Navy Pier with our team, and I was once again trapped inside my house. Things that made me cry yesterday: Katelyn used the wrong vacuum cleaner, My sister in law watered my flowers, My t-shirts were folded wrong, and I got pooped on. Yep, full hormones in effect.

Placenta. Now, some of you may have already seen the pictures, or heard the conversation, for those of you who have no warning I apologize. My husband dehydrated the baby’s placenta, made it into powder, and encapsulated it for me. Making the capsules in a long process, and he didn’t have a chance to make any before he left for Navy Pier yesterday. I missed my daily dose of placenta pills, and then had a complete hormonal melt down.

 

Coincidence? I don’t think so. I know my husband can be “out there” sometimes, but he’s usually right. In this case, he was right. The placenta is a magic thing, and it really DOES help with postpartum depression. I don’t expect that many of you will get to experience this part of the home birth, because you’re not married to Bill. I love that man, even though he’s crazy. And makes me take placenta pills.

 

Leave a Reply

