Over sharing….all the time

CrossFit, Pregnancy, and some other random thoughts

32 weeks, and I’m a liar April 12, 2011

Filed under: Pregnancy — Jennie Yundt @ 3:45 pm

Ok, so it isn’t that I’m a liar, or that I can’t be trusted. Then again, maybe that’s the case. Let’s take a step back here and give you the official report on WOD 2 and 3 of the CrossFit Open.

WOD 2: EPIC FAIL
15:00 AMRAP
9 deadlifts
12 push-ups
15 box jumps

Do you see my problem? The issue here was that I promised my midwife that I wouldn’t do any bouncing. In my mind, I had decided that a 15:00 workout wasn’t going to change anything, so I would just say “to hell with it” and participate. Then on Friday night, Bill sat me down. He fed me a giant piece of prime rib and had a heart to heart with me about my “situation”. Apparently he doesn’t realize that I’m in a FIERCE competition with Lisbeth, and that I’ll stop at nothing to win. Sigh. In the end. I just did the deadlifts and push-ups and tapped out. Oh well. Score:

Jennie – 1
Lisbeth – 1

WOD 3: My body wasn’t cooperating.
AMRAP in 5:00
clean & jerk (50kg’s)

Um, hello!!!! If there was any workout that would take 2nd place to the DU snatch WOD, this was it. Heavy clean & jerks are my second favorite thing on Earth. I went in with the mindset that I would get 20 rounds, but Bill changed things up on me at the last minute. Plus, the clock was counting backwards, and I was having a helluva time pacing myself. I only ended up with 14 full rounds. Poo. Lisbeth ended up with 18.

Score:

Jennie – 1
Lisbeth – 2

Now, onto why I’m a liar. Apparently weighing myself  at the midwife has become on the honor system. “Just hop on the scale and let me know what it says”. REALLY?! Wow, look at that, 115lbs on the nose. It’s a miracle. 🙂 I’ll admit, I fudged the number, but only by half a pound! Don’t judge me, ok!? 166lbs isn’t THAT different from 166.5…..but it somehow made me feel better to only have to say 166.

I have been following the “B” scaling options at the Fort pretty religiously, and it’s been ok. This morning we had to run, and that was a big mistake. I could feel every single bouncy step pulling at my round ligaments. After 2 rounds, I had to switch over to Mr. Rower. Looks like I’m out of commission as far as running goes. Darn.

 

Leave a Reply

